Skip to content
February 26, 2013 / missjandme

This one’s for my Yarnies …

I came to this realization recently (mentioned briefly in my discussion of my craft clutter) that my mind is stagnating due to denying myself creative outlet. I do lots of craft, projects and colouring with my Miss, but wasn’t doing anything for myself.

Enter yarn.

I have a lovely group of friends (‘Ohana means family, family means nobody gets left behind. Or forgotten.) that I have met on the ‘Net over the years, and many of them are knitters or crocheters – or, as I call them, yarners. I always felt vaguely envious of their various talents, because I always thought I just wasn’t cut out to be a yarner. Turns out, I’m not cut out to be a knitter. My poor Mom has taught me to knit probably three or four times throughout my life, and there’s always something about it that I just don’t “get.” Actually, the truth is, I can master the basic knit stitch, I just can’t cast on to save my life and can never get my head around any other stitches.

My friend C is working on Granny Square Sampler Afghan Project and I loved it so much I figured it was worth the ole college try! So I bought a hook and a skein of yarn and fired up the “learn to crochet” YouTube tutorials linked in the afghan project. And lookit!

 

First granny square in progress.

First granny square in progress.

First granny square completed.

First granny square completed.

Current staus - 2 squares complete and 1 in progress

Current staus – 2 squares complete and 1 in progress

I’m quite proud of how well I’m doing with this! I have acquired a small stash of yarn, and my Mom is sending me some she has that she doesn’t need any more. My plan is to make the colours really random so that it’s like a rainbow exploded on the finished afghan! I’m asking Miss J to pick colours if she happens to be around at the appropriate time (not often since I tend to work on it after she’s asleep.) I selected black as my “background” colour, so all the different colours will really stand out.

So, to my yarners, you win. I’m yarning and loving it. And Miss J thinks it’s just awesome that this will someday be a blanket we can cuddle up under.

And speaking of Miss J! We found our first loose tooth today! Where has the time gone?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bertie / Feb 26 2013 3:10 pm

    Yay! It’s looking great! I can’t wait to see the finished project.

  2. Wrennie / Feb 26 2013 4:32 pm

    I love you! It’s gonna rock so hard. As soon as I can get out Miss J’s dolly welcome gift, I’m sending along a square for your blankie, so you always have a piece of me (and know how much I adore you guys!)

  3. Thia / Feb 26 2013 4:47 pm

    LOVING! THESE! You’re doing a great job, hon. ❤

  4. Sonia / Feb 26 2013 8:50 pm

    Beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

