Skip to content
October 28, 2012 / missjandme

WHO has the best sister ever?

My sister, that’s who. (Trick question, we both do!)

Seeing as how I was unemployed around the time of my sister’s birthday, I was really struggling to think of something to give her. Both of us are striving to simplify and declutter our lives a bit, so I didn’t want to just give her something that would take up space in her life/home without purpose. I had a few ideas for something to make her, but I kept putting it off (until past her birthday, darned procrastinating genes) because nothing seemed right.

Then, one night, she pinned the cutest little BFF type Tardis necklace to our shared Pinterest board “Everything Doctor Who.” You see, she was converted to Whovianism a while ago, and back in the summer when we stayed at her place on our vacation, she introduced J and I to the show. Now we sit at our computers and TVs on Saturday nights (or we will in DECEMBER whan that evil man Moffat deigns to dish us some new episodes!) and talk about the episodes on Facebook as we watch. It’s kind of a cool bonding thing for us, since it’s so hard to be apart. The shared Pinterest board is where I pin cool Doctor Who stuff for her to look at. (We also have “The Sisters Board” for all the random, “I have to show her this” crap.)

So there I was, staring at this pretty adorable necklace that she obviously liked, and although it wasn’t all that expensive, I just couldn’t do it under current circumstances. And then I realized – I CAN DO THIS.

So I dug around in my supplies, did a little internet research, and got to it. I got it finished in time for our visit back home for Thanksgiving, and presented it to my delighted sister, better late than never. Now when December rolls around, we’ll be just a little bit more connected as we sit down to watch our show “together.”

Without further ado, I present the “TARDIS BSF Necklace.” (That’s Best Sisters Forever!)

Photo #1 – Supplies (including what we later established were 25+ year old Shrinky Dinks. I failed to include the jump rings and cords, mainly because I took the supplies pic last.)

Photo #2 – Completed TARDIS – I traced over a picture of the TARDIS and coloured it in using the various Sharpies. Also used a white coloured pencil in behind the signage to ensure that it would be opaque once shrunk.

Photo #3 – closeup of finished piece, showing the 4 shades of blue I used to try to match the colour. I traced the black outlines on the shiny side of the Shrinky Dinks, then coloured the back or rough side, and finally retraced the black lines on the rough side to ensure they’d look crisp.

Photo #4 – Another view, with the little hearts. I might be rather inordinately proud of the thing.

Photo #5 – Cut to make the two halves. Honestly, cutting the thing was the hardest part, after I’d put in an hour or more doing the tracing/colouring and was so proud of how it turned out.

Photo #6 – ready to go into the oven.

Photo #7 – all shrunk down and (thankfully!) flattened. I was freaking out as it shrunk, just hoping it wouldn’t end up all curled up.

Photo #8 – the finished product, hearts attached and strung on cords, ready to give to my darling Sister.

 

I’m very pleased with how this project turned out, and so proud to have given my sister something I made with my own hands that has a special meaning for us. Happy Birthday, Sister!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sonia / Oct 28 2012 12:07 pm

    I don’t watch the show but that is a super cool gift idea! 😉

    • missjandme / Oct 28 2012 3:10 pm

      You should watch it. It’s super awesome. Maybe I’ll make you one with a shoe phone or something. 😛

Leave a Reply

