Skip to content
June 6, 2012 / missjandme

A Little Dose of Miss J

I thought I’d share a bit about Miss J – she’s growing and changing so quickly that I like to document the little things.

  • In the last month or so, she’s taken to calling me Mimi instead of Mommy. She thought up a nickname for me all by herself and was so proud. It makes my heart swell every time she says it.
  • We are on a Star Wars timeout right now – Miss J got so obsessed that we had to hide our DVDs and her SW toys for a bit so she can talk about something else.
  • We bought some lovely fresh local strawberries at the Farmer’s Market last weekend, and Miss J is mad because they’re “too little.” I’m hoping to teach her why they’re better.
  • Miss J is reading at what I’d guess is a 2nd or 3rd grade level. Last night at bedtime she read our whole book. Our library has an extensive selection of levelled readers, and she’s able to read fairly well in even the level 4 books, although she gets frustrated easily with the harder vocabulary.
  • Miss J’s imaginary kids are going strong, but the names have morphed dramatically – what was once a collection of made-up alien names has changed to familiar names, kids from school, family members, etc. I’m hoping this progression helps her let go of the imaginary friends in time. But for the time being, I’m just dealing with them, although they’re always getting into trouble. And constantly reminding her not to yell at them in public.

Here are a few photos of Miss J from our trip to a local playground yesterday.

Saucer swinging

Happy face

Silly girl

Lazy swinger

The last one is my favourite – I had told her that I was getting tired of pushing her in this big, heavy swing and she was shouting “That’s why you have two arms, Mimi! Use the other one!” (I was pushing with one hand because I was holding her water bottle in the other. Sassy girl!)

We have made a decision to enroll Miss J in an every day SK program next year, mainly to allow her the deeper French Immersion, and so I will be treasuring our days off together and the little outings we go on. Even just a walk over to our garden turns into a little adventure with Miss J, because she is constantly amazed by things that I take for granted, like bugs and flowers and little things we see along our path. She’s helping me look at the world with new eyes!

Leave a Reply

