Skip to content
May 29, 2012 / missjandme

Enjoying Good Customer Service (plus bonus recipes!)

I’ve been trying to write this post for two days, but I kept running into technical difficulties and kidmergencies. So now, here we go.

I’ve worked in customer service in varying forms for most of my working life, so I really appreciate when a company or service provider gives good service. I understand how hard that can be sometimes, so I value good service more than ever.

Water Bottles

These are Miss J’s water bottles. The animal print was Grama’s and was gifted to her. I bought the other two, the purple specifically for her first day of school and the pink because I found it on a clearance rack for a very good price. As you can see, there are 3 bottles and only 1 lid. Which is broken.

Broken Lid

There’s nothing wrong with the bottles. And the lids all broke through our own actions. One shattered when I dropped it in the parking lot at home. This one got bitten by a certain Miss. And the third had the pull up part of the spout pulled directly off while she was drinking from it.

So I looked up the company that makes the bottles SubZero/Eco-Highway, sister companies that manufacture all three of the bottles. On their websites, I found replacement caps, even in the flip top style I prefer. However, at $4.99 each plus tax and shipping, I was looking at a grand total of $31.59 to replace the three caps. I can guarantee that this is more than the original cost of the three bottles!

I debated just throwing the bottles out and buying new, but it hurts me to do something so wasteful. I decided to email the company and ask if there are any retail locations where the replacement caps are available, thinking the $15 for the caps would hurt, but that I could stomach it rather than discard the bottles. So I used their Contact Us page, and sent a simple message explaining that while we love our bottles, we’re having trouble with the lids and could they tell me if there’s somewhere to buy them retail. And this is where it gets good.

Text of the email I got back from an actual person:

Sorry for all the problems your bottles are causing. We are committed to
our customers and producing products that meet high standards. I do have a
couple flip caps for you. Please send me your mailing address and I will send you
a couple free of charge. If at all possible, could you email me some
pictures of the broken tops I can take to our quality control team to see
how we can improve as well?

Best Regards,
Ryan

(This is why I took pictures of the bottles, by the way.) I sent my address and the photos above back to Ryan at SubZero, and a few days later I got a box in the mail with three beautiful new bottle lids in it!

I can’t say enough how impressed I was with the very quick responses I received from this company, and the fact that they replaced these items free of charge, even after I explained that we had physically broken all these lids. There was no manufacturing flaws, no spontaneous breakage. I dropped one, and Miss J bit the other two, plain and simple. The fact that, in this day and age, this company cared enough about my satisfaction and my concerns about waste to give me free product makes me feel really good about doing business with them. I know that next time I need a new water bottle I’ll be looking for a SubZero bottle, and I hope you will too.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________-

Bonus recipes? Yes! I did a couple quick recipe adjusts recently for our dinners, and wanted to share them.

Mustard Rub

1 tbsp grainy mustard (original recipe called for Creole mustard, which I’d never heard of)
2 tsp olive oil
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
scant half tsp each dry thyme, marjoram, and chives

Mix well and rub over roast before placing in the oven. I used this on a 2.5 lbish riast and it covered well, gave a nice tenderness and flavour to the meat. Adapted from a recipe I found on Cooks.com. Would probably also work well on pork tenderloin or even a chicken you’re going to roast. (I want to try that now!)

Quick Greek Marinade
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
1-2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
pinch each of dry oregano, thyme, and marjoram

I was defrosting some chicken breasts that were already portioned in a zipper bag, so I just mixed this up and poured in the bag a ccouple hours before I wanted to cook. I grilled these and they were fabulous! Miss J didn’t even put bbq sauce on her meat, which is a thing right now. Adapted from a salad dressing recipe in the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.

Hope you get a chance to try these out! Please tell me how it turns out for you.

Leave a Reply

